How To Get What You Want, The Right Way.

Ant Medaglia
3 min readMar 24, 2024

I recently moved into a new apartment, and the move went way smoother than anticipated. Everything was prepared in advance and overall I controlled the things I could control. However, of course, it wasn’t perfect. The one hiccup that occurred is what made me realize this concept and motivated me to write this article.

I contacted Verizon about 10 days before my move-in date to get WiFi set up. Long story short, I did what I had to do and the technician was scheduled to come to my new apartment that same weekend I moved in. I was informed that there was an extra step that I had to complete because the previous resident had a business line with Verizon that needed to be closed. Needless to say, I completed the step immediately and was ready for Verizon to come.

As you can already guess, the installation date came, and of course Verizon did not. I called and was immediately informed of the issue, which was on their end not mine. This was of course extremely frustrating.

The following day I called back and after about 30 minutes was informed that I would not be able to get a technician to my home for another 7 days. I was infuriated. While my friends, family, and colleagues ALL told me I needed to cause a scene and be a “Karen”, it truly isn’t in me to be THAT GUY. I’ve worked in customer service and I understand that almost…

--

--

Ant Medaglia

Physical Education Teacher • M.Ed School Counseling • Ed.S Professional Counseling • Business Owner • Freelance Writer